Dave Ling Online


February 2018
1) Marillion – ‘Brave – Deluxe Edition’ (Parlophone – Four-disc reappraisal of one of their defining moments)
2) Rose Tattoo – ‘Tatts Live In Brunswick’ (Golden Robot – Tearing up an Aussie bikers club in ’82… amazing!)
3) Cats In Space – ‘Cats Alive!’ (Harmony Factory – Their set supporting Thunder in Cardiff… fabulous stuff)
4) The Temperance Movement – ‘A Deeper Cut’ (Earache – The band’s best since that awesome debut)
5) W.E.T. – ‘Earthrage’ (Frontiers – This new music from Soto, Mårtensson and Säll is F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.!)
6) Dukes Of The Orient – ‘Dukes Of The Orient’ (Frontiers – Silky, melodic pomp-rock doesn’t get too much better)
7) Damian Wilson & Adam Wakeman – ‘The Sun Will Dance In Its Twilight Hour’ (Blacklake – A mesmerising two-man collaboration)
8) Damian Wilson – ‘Built For Fighting’ (Blacklake – Available since 2016, but I’ve *finally* got it on vinyl!)
9) Burn – ‘Ice Age’ (Melodic Rock – Some fillers at the end but otherwise what a great melodic hard rock record)
10) The Sheepdogs – ‘Changing Colours’ (Dine Alone – Killer retro-rock from Saskatoon, Canada)
11) Space Elevator – ‘Space Elevator II’ (SPV – This is one heck of a grower…)
12) Jared James Nichols – ‘Black Magic’ (Listenable – Okay, it came out last year but this coloured vinyl adds three bonus tracks!)
13) David Byron – ‘Baby Faced Killer’ (Floating World – The first time I’ve owned it on CD… patchy but good bits are great!)
14) Little Caesar – ‘Eight’ (Golden Robot – Still hard rockin’, still soulful…)
15) No Hot Ashes – ‘No Hot Ashes’ (Frontiers – Back after 34 years away and produced by Messrs Goldsworthy and Jupp, this is a darned fine return!)
16) Skam – ‘The Amazing Memoirs Of Geoffrey Goddard’ (www.skamuk.com – What a massive improvement on what went before!)
17) Wayward Sons – ‘Ghosts Of Yet To Come’ (Frontiers – Ex-Little Angels/Fastway singer Toby Jepson returns in fine voice)
18) Tribulation – ‘Down Below’ (Century Media – Saw them with Arch Enemy and their album is outstanding)
19) Stuckfish – ‘Calling’ (Sonic Portrait – Fantastic melodic prog-rock)
20) Signal Red – ‘Under The Radar’ (Escape Music - Powerful and fiery yet well-grounded in a melodic sense)
21) Mike LePond’s Silent Assassins’ – ‘Pawn And Prophecy’ (Frontiers – All-star power-metal combo led by the Symphony X bassist)
22) Fabio Lione-Allessandro Conti – ‘Lione v Conti’ (Frontiers – It’s a melodic power-metal meltdown!)
23) Billy Walton Band – ‘Soul Of A Man’ (No Fret – Bluesy, funky and uplifting!)
24) Seven More Days – ‘Little Dark Pleasures’ (Sevenmoredays.com – Hard rock/metal with lashings of light and shade)
25) Neon Animal – ‘Bring Back Rock ‘N’ Roll From The Dead’ (Cargo – Sleazy, wasted-sounding, bubblegum-esque rock ‘n’ roll)

January 2018
1) Michael Schenker Fest – ‘Resurrection’ (Nuclear Blast – This will be among the best releases of 2018)
2) Ammunition – ‘Ammunition’ (Frontiers – Nü-AOR genius from Erik Mårtensson and Åge Sten Nilsen)
3) Nightwish – ‘Decades’ (Nuclear Blast – So many great songs!)
4) Curved Air – ‘Airconditioning’/‘Air Cut’ (Esoteric Recordings – Newly expanded editions of albums from 1970 and ’73)
5) Raintimes – ‘Raintimes’ (Frontiers – US-style pure-AOR… from Italy!)
6) Jon Butcher Axis – ‘Jon Buther Axis’ (Escape Music – For the first time on CD… this li’l gem stands up very well!)
7) Vandenberg’s Moonkings – ‘Mk II’ (Mascot – Always loved this guy’s work!)
8) Mollie Marriott – ‘Truth Is A Wolf’ (Amadeus Music – Newly tweaked version of her debut, previously issued in 2015)
9) Rick Derringer – ‘Joy Ride: Solo Albums 1973-1980’ (Hear No Evil – Four-disc set… such an underrated body of work!)
10) Kayak – ‘Seventeen’ (Inside Out – Delicious symphonic prog from Holland… with cameo from Andy Latimer)
11) Malinda Moye – ‘Bad As I Wanna Be’ (Leopard – Malinda’s mix of funk, rock and soul can be a bit too poppy for me, but I love what she does!)
12) Michael Schenker – ‘A Decade Of The Mad Axeman’ (Inakustik – Double-disc anthology)
13) Robin Beck – ‘Love Is Coming’ (Frontiers – Sprightly, colourful, fun AOR)
14) Jessica Wolff – ‘Grounded’ (Metalopolis – Not sure why I love this slice of pop-rock like I do… but it’s great)
15) Perfect Beings – ‘Vier’ (Inside Out – Dreamy, blissful prog… ideal for a Sunday morning chillout)
16) Matthew Fischer – ‘Matthew Fischer’/ ‘Strange Days’ (Angel Air – Two-on-one re-issue of the Procol Harum keyboardist’s solo work)
17) Prayer – ‘Silent Soldeiers’ (Escape Music - These Finns weld a colourful, pompous edge to a fairly robust strand of AOR)
18) Pretty Boy Floyd – ‘Public Enemies’ (Frontiers – The Aldi edition of Mötley Crüe… oddly, this catchy collection includes a track by Nikki Sixx)
19) Bodast – ‘Towards Utopia’ (Esoteric Recordings – The ‘lost’ debut from Steve Howe and company)
20) John Steel with Doogie White – ‘Everything Or Nothing’ (John Steel – Bulgarian metalheads are joined by the estimable Mr White… not too shabby!)

Playlist 2017
Playlist 2016

Playlist Archive

The discs on the MIGHTY WURLINGTZER will be changed every month. If there are any albums you think should be included on next month's playlist, please let us know!

2016 - www.daveling.co.uk - All Rights Reserved
Quotes Dave's shrine to CPFC Email Gallery Dave's Diary Sleevenotes Dave Ling on Facebook Picks Picks Playlist Articles by Dave Ling YouTube Of The Month Biography